The LA Sports Awards, in its 16th consecutive year, is an annual star-studded awards dinner and gala that celebrates the best of the year in sports in the greater Los Angeles Area. Presented by the Los Angeles Sports Council Foundation 501(c)(3), the event recognizes the top sports moments and personalities of the year. A portion of the proceeds benefit the Council's most important program, Ready, Set, Gold!, a community health, fitness and social and emotional learning program that promotes healthy and active lifestyles to children in Southern California schools.

The show, presented in front of a live audience since its debut in 2005, has recognized some of the most hallowed figures in Los Angeles sports history, including Clayton Kershaw, Dave Roberts, Mike Scioscia, Peter O'Malley, Jerry West, Paul Gasol, Chris Paul, Phil Jackson, Doc Rivers, Jeanie Buss, Aaron Donald, Sean McVay, Landon Donovan, Cobi Jones, Luc Robitaille, and Olympic heroes including Allyson Felix, Kerri Walsh Jennings and Misty May-Treanor, Lisa Leslie, Adam Krikorian and Peter Ueberroth.

The hosts and presenters of awards have included similarly legendary personalities such as Vin Scully, Al Michaels, Bob Miller, Tommy Hawkins and Mia Hamm Garciaparra.

During the show, the top ten moments in sports are unveiled in ranked order and special Tiffany & Co. awards are presented to the honorees in the following categories:

Sportsman of the Year 
Sportswoman of the Year 
Coach of the Year 
Executive of the Year 
Mayor's Community Athlete of the Year  
Greatest Moment of the Year 
2020 LA Sports Awards, The Beverly Hilton  


  Selection of the award winners:  

A distinguished media panel is responsible for selecting the Executive of the Year as well as determining greatest moments of the year. Fan voting is combined with the media panel’s rankings to produce the top “Greatest Moments” in LA Sports. The Sportsman, Sportswoman, Coach and Community Athlete of the Year selections are made by a committee of the Sports Council’s Board of Directors.  

  Click Here to see all of the previous award winners