Anthony Lynn of the L.A. Chargers Named 2018 Coach of the Year


LOS ANGELES (January 3, 2019) - Los Angeles Chargers Head Coach Anthony Lynn, who has guided the team to its first playoff berth in five years, has been selected 2018 Coach of the Year by the Los Angeles Sports Council.

Lynn will be honored at the 14th Annual LA Sports Awards, to be held on Monday, March 25 at The Beverly Hilton.

Under Lynn, the Chargers completed the regular season with an outstanding 12-4 record - tied with the Chiefs for the best mark in the AFC. In all, Lynn's Chargers secured victories in five different time zones across two different continents including wins at Seattle, Pittsburgh and Kansas City, three of the NFL's most difficult venues to visit.

Further, under the direction of their second-year coach, seven players were picked to play in the 2019 Pro Bowl later this month. The seven selections are a league-high and the most for the team since 2008.

The Chargers will play at Baltimore on Sunday in the first round of the playoffs.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area.

The ceremony also will feature the presentation of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, and Sports Executive of the Year, and a countdown of 2018's Top Ten moments. The awards banquet will be televised on Fox Sports West/Prime Ticket (air dates TBA).

Previous Coach of the Year award honorees include Sean McVay, Dave Roberts and Doc Rivers.